August 8th, 2011   Leave a comment

While I seldom get out to see the whales these days, it is always nice when I do.

This particular day I went out on the Whales in Paradise boat named Mahi Mahi that leaves from the river in Surfers Paradise. In the past I have photographed Mahi Mahi with whales in close proximity to the vessel but today I was seeing the whales from a different angle, aboard the vessel Mahi Mahi that sits very low in the water.

We had to travel 10 nautical miles off the coast and I was told by the crew that the distance has been the norm for this season. It’s a long way to go in search of whales and means the time with the whales is shorter due to the time it takes to get back to shore.

We saw a few pods of whales but the ones that caught our eyes were the ones that one tail and pec slapping and with that play, there is generally breaching.

I was rewarded with a number of breaches but caught up in the moment and the beauty of it all, I didn’t even bother to try and lift my camera to catch the splendour of these creatures as they dived deep and then with a flick of their tail, eject themselves out of the water, with a grand finale as they come down on their belly. In human talk, I would call it a belly-flop and it hurts.

IMG_1001

IMG_1004

IMG_1005

IMG_1006

IMG_1008

IMG_1009

IMG_1010

IMG_1019

IMG_1021

IMG_1022

IMG_1024

IMG_1026

IMG_1027

IMG_1059

IMG_1067

IMG_1076

IMG_1077

IMG_1078

IMG_1082

IMG_1083

IMG_1084

IMG_1088

IMG_1089

IMG_1090

In 4 days I am heading off on my annual trip to Africa. Upon my return, if my work load is not too busy, I am going to take a 3 day weekend and spend it on a whale boat in Hervey Bay. Hervey bay is known for it’s resting place for the Humpbacks on their annual migration. It is common for whales to stop in for a week at a time, to rest and frolic in the calm waters of Platypus Bay on the western side of Fraser Island before continuing on the journey back to rich feeding grounds of Antarctica. The sightings I have heard are remarkable and not to be forgotten.

Stay tuned for more this season.

Posted August 15, 2011 by goldcoastwhales in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

