Whales 2 September, 2009   1 comment

Today started off to be one of the more quieter days that I have experienced on the water.

IMG_4878

For 2 hours we followed a pod of two whales that we coming to the surface every 7-10 minutes, breathing and then diving deep again.  I had chosen to sit up on the roof of Spirit today, hoping that we might get a mugging and I would be in a good position to photograph it.

At 11am, Skipper Jason advised everyone that we would have to be turning back soon, so I climbed down from my perch and proceeded to put my cameras away. I then went on downstairs to sign one of my books for a lovely elderly lady. 

What then happened I had predicted when I was back upstairs.  As I looked out the doorway window, the two whales came to the surface right beside the boat. No camera in my hand I could only cheer and wave with delight. The best thing of all was seeing the expression on the elderly lady’s face who was beside me. It absolutely made her day.

Next I could hear cheers and heard that the whales were at the front of the boat. I ran to the front only to discover I was too late.  I stood there for a short while hoping the whales may resurface close by and I would get to enjoy their closeness without my cameras around my neck. No such luck, so I headed to the back of the boat where the stairs are. There I stopped to chat to a lady who was suffering from seasickness and next thing I know, cheering was coming from all over the boat. One of the whales had breeched near the front.

A passenger close to me cried out that she had missed the shot and I told her, “Put your camera up now, the whale will breach again” and sure enough it did.

I then ran up the stairs, trying to get past passengers that were blocking my path. I unzipped my bag and ran with my camera to the side. I captured 9 chin slaps and have no idea our many I missed.

IMG_1248

IMG_1285

It was an absolutely magical moment after such a quiet morning.

Chin slaps are often a sign of annoyance or aggression.

IMG_1239

IMG_1240

IMG_1241

IMG_1242

IMG_1243

IMG_1244

IMG_1245

IMG_1246

IMG_1247

In this case it was obvious the whales were annoyed by the number of boats that were around them. I think today we came extremely close to witnessing a small boat under attack from a whale. From my photo you will see this boat was overstepping his mark and acting unlawfully. Photos are a great source of evidence.

IMG_1273

Sept 20
Sept 21
Sept 22
Sept 23
Sept 24
Sept 25
Sept 26
Sept 27
Sept 28
Sept 29
Sept 210
Sept 211
Sept 212
Sept 213
Sept 214
Sept 215
Sept 216
Sept 217
Sept 218
Sept 219
Sept 220
Sept 221
Sept 222
Sept 223
Sept 224
Sept 225
Sept 226

Posted September 2, 2009 by goldcoastwhales in Uncategorized

One response to “Whales 2 September, 2009

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful update! The couple in the small boat were very foolish.

Leave a Reply

